Pass it On

Posted: February 17, 2011 in Christian Life

I get into work today and realize two very important things, I have long over neglected my blog and I have emails to read. So I’m skimming over the emails that I received from my overly punctual dismissal from work to when I arrive and then take a moment to scan my personal email account. There are the usual bill pay reminders, meeting memos and percentages off crafting supplies; then I find them, forwards.

Email has taken the link of a chain letter and turned it global in the matter of seconds. Not only is this slightly aggravating, this is where I also remember I have been neglecting my poor blog for too long.

I got a couple of Minnesota jokes from my family that put a smile on my face reminding me of memories of my childhood home. Then I got one, and you all know which ones I’m talking about, the ones that jar you saying, “If you love Jesus send this on to 520 people.” If this is true I am going to hell. You know, that special kind of hell reserved for those that talk in the theater.

So I can either be resolved that I am going to said special hell or do some thinking. Heaven shouldn’t be reserved to those that were blessed to be alive prior to the internet. God loved me before I was born, and I didn’t have internet in the womb. Jesus did come to seek and save the lost, and the internet is a pretty crazy place. Finally, never once has anything good, bad, or the other happen because I have failed to do anything for a chain letter. Then why does my love of Christ hinge on a digital letter.

Truth is it doesn’t. There is a quote attributed to St. Francis of Assisi which says, “Preach the Gospel at all times and when necessary, use words.” The Gospel itself is the love of Christ proclaimed to the world. How then can we love Christ more than to proclaim His love to others. We show this love most through how we live and encounter others and when our lives are genuine.

So when we send out these “churchy” emails do we do so because it has a good message or because we fear we will offend Jesus by not doing so. Instead I just find the perfect place for them, the delete box.

Leave a Reply

